Maxime Bujakov  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 13:56
French to English
+ ...
May 7, 2017

Hello!
Please help with 2 issues:
1 - when translating "km" to English I have to add the value in miles (eg. 60 miles (100 km)), and Trados flags the translation as having an 'extra placeable' - how do I make it ignore this?

2 - and more important, but not Trados-related - when translating (localizing) "change oil every 3000 km", obviously I should not write "1864 miles". As an engineer I understand that I need to round to the same number of significant digits. But in this example some zeros are significant, and some are not. Somehow, I feel that 2 digits are ok, i.e. "change oil every 1800 miles (3000 km)". (If it said "change oil every 2400 km" then it would certainly be 2 digits.) Don't think 1860 miles would be appropriate.

Could someone suggest the formal name of this units conversion rule in localization application and where I can look for the guidelines?

Thank you![Edited at 2017-05-07 20:48 GMT]

UPD: https://www.nist.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pml/wmd/metric/SP1038.pdf

[Edited at 2017-05-08 04:16 GMT]

Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 19:56
Member (2016)
Chinese to English
+ ...
Project settings May 8, 2017

Maxime Bujakov wrote:

Hello!
Please help with 2 issues:
1 - when translating "km" to English I have to add the value in miles (eg. 60 miles (100 km)), and Trados flags the translation as having an 'extra placeable' - how do I make it ignore this?