Trados 6.0 changing fonts, styles in Word XP
Thread poster: Rufino Pérez De La Sierra

Rufino Pérez De La Sierra  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 13:27
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 16, 2005

Thanks in advance for your always valuable help!

I am translating a series of manuals of the same kind I have been doing for a few years now, but since Friday Trados is changing the fonts, their size, style (bold, italics), and it is making everything in Capial letters or adding strike to the test.

I have no clue as to why, original files as same as always, so I don't think it's that.

Any help will be highly appreaciated.

Thanks
Rufino

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:27
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Is Trados really changing them? May 16, 2005

Becaus I would suppose Trados is RESTORING styles as they are defined!
Please check, if the styles do match your document.
Ie if the style "Standard" (Normal?) is set to the same font, sisze, language and other parameter as it appears to be in your document.

We have had this discussions numerous times now. I remember answering such questions at least 4 or even 5 times this year.
I would say, that those changes are allmost allways caused by mismatched styles. Sometimes a "Far East" history of the file (this means there is an asian language deifined somwhere in the file) plays another role.

So before you start to translate, set the styles to match the formatting of your document and set the language of the whole document to your TARGET language. Switch auto language recognition off. Doing so you will prevent allmost all changes.

Regards
Jerzy

Louise Dupont  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:27
English to French
But how? May 17, 2005

Hello Jerzy,

I know that this subject is very popular. I found numerous questions and explanations in the Forum but never the detailed "How to". Can you explain the procedure to follow, I'm not a Word Pro.
TIA

Louise