Terminology Management: Trados and Russian (or other highly-inflected languages)
Thread poster: Zosia Niedermaier-Reed

Zosia Niedermaier-Reed
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:18
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 12

Hi all,

Not sure if I am posting this in the right forum. I am a Masters student (in Translation) and am writing an essay on terminology in CAT tools, namely how to enable a termbase to identify inflected terms when translating from Russian to English.

I was wondering how inflected terms were dealt with in a professional environment, and I am particularly interested in how they are dealt with in Trados. Some questions:

When adding a term to the termbase, does the terminologist (or whoever adds the term) add all possible inflections of the term?
Do company termbases contain all possible inflections of a term?

Generally any other ideas/knowledge that anyone has on the topic of using a termbase when translating FROM highly-inflected languages into English (or any other less highly-inflected languages) would be much appreciated!

Thank you,

Zosia

Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 18:18
English to Russian
genitive case May 14

Hi Zosia,
Among other methods that may be proposed by others, I prefer to add a term in genitive case (родительный падеж). It often matches some other grammatical cases and this makes it the most frequently used form. I don’t think adding all forms is a good idea. There may be 2 to 12 terms in a segment. Multiply them by 6 cases, plus 6 more cases for plural… In genitive case, it takes to correct 1 or 2 letters (ending) to get the needed case.