how do you use Trados for translation purposes?
Thread poster: sinead brody

sinead brody  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:42
French to English
+ ...
Aug 23, 2005

Hi, I'm really new to TRADOS so I was wondering whether any of you have the basic guidelines for using it with translation or even proofreading.
If you could get back to me on this, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Sinéad

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 21:42
English to German
+ ...
Use the tutorials Aug 24, 2005

Hi Sinead,
You didn't mention which version you're using - if it's 6.5 or 7.0, you will find interactive tutorials as part of your installation.

Best regards,
Ralf

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:42
English to French
+ ...
Start at the beginning Aug 24, 2005

Hello Sinéad,

I just wanted to tell you how I started with Trados not long ago. I had the same same problem: program installed correctly - now what?

Start by using the tutorials, as suggested by Ralf. Then, what you may want to do is make up some "mock" documents and pretend you are translating them for a client. The next logical step is opening Translator's Workbench, the backbone of the whole Trados package. Fiddle with it, it won't break