How to translate PDF files with Trados?
Thread poster: hongsang

hongsang  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:12
English to Chinese
+ ...
Sep 9, 2005

Hello, everyone,
I am quite new with Trados. I am wondering how to translate PDF files with Trados 6.5. Thank you.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-09-11 04:08]

Direct link Reply with quote

PCovs
Denmark
Local time: 05:12
Member (2003)
English to Danish
+ ...
You can't! Sep 9, 2005

Trados does not support pdf-files.

You need to use an OCR-tool or a pdf-converter to convert the document to a word-file, and then you can use Trados to translate it.

Inform your client right away that you cannot edit pdf-files (in reality, very few people can), and ask the client if they could perhaps send some other format of the file.
If not, then you could search the web for a pdf-converter or you could ask your local software-store.

If you have a lot of money, you could of course simply buy Acrobat Editor, and this would take care of the problem. ;o)

Or...if the client insists - you should decline the job, or at least ask for more money since you would then have to rewrite the original text before using Trados to translate it.

hongsang  Identity Verified
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you Sep 9, 2005

thank you for your shift help. I think I'd better convert it into word file before I get started translating. Thanks again.

xxxIanW
German to English
+ ...
Hard returns Sep 10, 2005

And make sure that the hard returns - the symbols that look like a small q which you get when you press Enter - are only present at the end of sentence or paragraphs. Otherwise Trados will treat them as the end of a sentence.

[Edited at 2005-09-10 14:03]

Doron Greenspan MITI  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 06:12
Member (2005)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Save as Text command Sep 10, 2005

You can also try to use the File/Save as Text command on the Adobe Reader menu.