word xp interference with Trados
Thread poster: Marwa Radi

Marwa Radi
Local time: 03:09
English to Arabic
Sep 21, 2005

Hi everybody,
I am a user beginner with Trados.
While woking with Trados 6.5, I by mistake deleted the translation units that Workbech opens by the delete button, and didnt close the unit by set/close button of Workbench.
The I got then is that, doing the translation and trying to close the translation Unit, the Workbench do not overwrite the source sentence by the target one, but just writes the two languages!with damaged unit signals.
I uninstalled the whole Trados, and reinstalled but the problem persisted.
What to do?

Thanks in advance,
Marwa

Direct link Reply with quote

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:09
English to German
+ ...
Not a Word XP problem... Sep 21, 2005

Hi Marwa,
I was considering the title of your posting before vetting it, but TBH the only thing I'm certain about is that this is not an interference between Word and Trados...

Have you tried the Fix Document command (in the Trados menu in Word)?

Does the problem persist with the document where you made that change only, or are other documents affected, too?

Best regards,
Ralf

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:09
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Workbench does NOT delete the source text during the translation Sep 21, 2005

And this is not a bug or a fault, but a feature.
I must admit, I don´t get your point fully.
But you should follow some simple steps when translating with Word and Trados.

All hidden texts and characters shall be shown. This ensures you will not damage allready translated parts of your documents, delimeters and so on. After the translation is finished and finally edited you can clean up the text, and all seource including delimeters and so on will be deleted.