Why do I have to Get Translation even on 100% matches?
Thread poster: NancyLynn

NancyLynn
Canada
Local time: 23:25
Member (2002)
French to English
+ ...

Jan 20, 2006

Hi everyone,
Trados 6.5.5, Office XP, Tag Editor, same TM I've used for this project since 2003.

I've justy reorganised the TM, that's not the problem. Checked the DTD settings, that's OK too.

This is an on-going project I've been working on for 3 years, several times per week.

I'm translating an owner's manual of which is three-quarters is 100% matches. Yet yesterday and today, every single segment comes up empty and yellow; I click on the straight arrow, get the 100% match from the memory, and the segment turns green. I then hit the Set/Get arrow, and have to do it again.

IOW, I'm having to stop at every segment to retrieve the translated text from the memory. Even for repetitions within this text, such as the title of the document and version number which comes up on every page.

Why? And how do I fix it?

Thanks so much, everyone!

Nancy

Direct link Reply with quote

Rebekka Groß  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:25
English to German
workaround Jan 20, 2006

Hi,

I can't think of a reason why this might happen though I've got the strange feeling that I've come across this before but just can't remember what I did about it.

The only workaround I can think of spontaneously is to run the files through the TM using the Workbench Translate command from the Tools menu ensuring that only the 100% matches are translated by entering '100' in the text box next to the '% or higher match value' option.

Alternatively, select 'Translate to fuzzy' when the file is open in TE. That way the 100% matches are automatically 'pulled in'. Or have you tried that already and it's not working?

I know these suggestions aren't solving your problem but they might serve as a temporary workaround and speed up your work.

Hope someone else will be able to help you figure out the cause for this behaviour.

HTH,

Rebekka