Thread poster: Balasubramaniam L.

Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 14:11
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
Mar 2, 2006

I recently downloaded SDLX 2005 trial version and was exploring it before deciding on purchasing the software.

I noticed that while SDLEdit handles unicode properly (I translate into Hindi and the characterset for this language is unicode-utf-8), TermBase doesn't seem to be fully compatible with unicode.

When I created a new termbase, I was not able to type anything into the term fields in Hindi. Whatever I type, appears as a series of ???????.

However, when I imported a tab-limited text file containing a glossary, the terms in Hindi are properly shown. However, these Hindi terms again are not editable.

Also, I am able to add new terms into the TermBase I created from my SDLX Edit, but again, I cannot edit them in the window that opens up when you add a new term from SDLXEdit. The same ???? issue arises.

I am completely new to SDLX, and it is possible that I have missed some important step. I do hope so, for other wise SDLX will have a very limited use for me.

Could those of you who have more knowledge of SDLX TermBase advise me how I can get it to work with unicode?

(I did try changing the font to a unicode font, Arial Unicode MS, but the problem was still there.)

Direct link Reply with quote

ENGSOL
German to English
+ ...
SDLX 2005 TermBase support for Unicode Mar 3, 2006

Hello Balasubramaniam,

Balasubramaniam wrote:
Could those of you who have more knowledge of SDLX TermBase advise me how I can get it to work with unicode?

I'm afraid I can't help, but maybe someone on the SDLX Yahoo list can.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sdlx/

Thomas

Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 14:11
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks for the tip Mar 4, 2006

ENGSOL wrote:

I'm afraid I can't help, but maybe someone on the SDLX Yahoo list can.

Thomas