Pre-translation tool doesn't translate file...
Thread poster: Lucy-Jane Michel

Lucy-Jane Michel  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:23
French to English
+ ...
Jul 4, 2006

Hello,
I'm new to Trados so I'm hoping this is a basic thing: when I use the translate tool, the text .BAK remains in the source language - I select the file from the 'browse' box, then copy/paste from 'Explorer' as per instructions, but the stats always show 0 terms translated. I've added similar files to the memory through WinAlign.
Any ideas? Many thanks for any help,
Lucy-Jane

Direct link Reply with quote

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 00:23
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
The bak-file is the backup, it does not change. Jul 4, 2006

And if your TM has no 100% matches Trados Workbench cannot translate anything. Try first to analyse your file in Workbench.
Regards
Heinrich

France
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Not even with file used to create memory... Jul 4, 2006

I tried it with one of the files I used to create the WinAlign project that I imported into Trados; still nothing! I ran it through the 'Analyse' and it gave me 81% at 95-99% match.
Ummmmm....any other ideas?

France
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Also 6% at 100% Jul 4, 2006

Sorry forgot that bit!

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
To find out what's happening... Jul 4, 2006

translate one of the winaligned files (i.e. the source of one of the file pairs) with word using the created TM.

btw there's a texbox in the pretranslate for X "% or higher match value" - with 95 as default. If you have it at 100 then not much will get pretranslated.

regards

Vito

PS: well, 6% (g)

[Edited at 2006-07-04 13:35]

France
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
WinAlign doc gives same result... Jul 4, 2006

Thanks Vito...

I tried one of the docs I used in WinAlign which is where I got 6%...could the translated doc be stored somewhere I haven't looked?