How many Workbench memory files can be open at the same time?
Thread poster: Luisa Ramos, CT

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:27
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Sep 16, 2006

First of all: I am new to SDL TRADOS. I worked with TRADOS some years ago but I am very rusty. This is the second time I will use TRADOS since I purchased it 3 weeks ago. The outcome of the first time was excellent, by sheer luck or by a miracle, take your pick.

Here is my situation:
Along with the source files, I received two (2) txt files to import, and work with. Of course, the client wants both txt files returned, updated.

Here is my question: Can I have the two memory files open at the same time? If not, what am I supposed to do so the final result is two updated txt files?

Direct link Reply with quote

Dimitra Karamperi  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 08:27
English to Greek
+ ...
Only 1 memory file can be open at a time Sep 16, 2006

Hi Luisa,

You cannot have both memory files open at the same time but it is rather easy to update them both. You translate as usual having open let's say the memory file A. When you finish save the uncleaned document with a different name. Clean the one file having open memory file A, close the A, open the B and clean the copy of your uncleaned translation.

Maybe someone knows another easier way to handle this.

BR,
Dimitra

Antoní­n Otáhal
Local time: 07:27
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
Ask your client Sep 16, 2006

I f they do not mind, it will be easier for you to import both txt fles into one TM and return that "merged" one to them after updating it from your translation. As a matter of fact, if they both contain reference materials for your transalation, I would do this in any case for the purposes of working on the translation.

If they agree with that, fine.