International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

QA or QC in Trados - is there a better way?
Thread poster: Susanne Lomander

Susanne Lomander  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 18:36
Swedish to English
+ ...
Oct 11, 2006

I have been using Trados Workbench & Multiterm with Word for a few years, yet I constantly feel like I am missing a quick and reliable way of making sure my translation memory is updated with edits and corrections.

My workflow is to create a copy of the source document and name it my TRADOS working copy. This is where I translate and proofread the document, going TU by TU to manually translate and review each sentence before cleanup.

Then I create another copy (TARGET) which is then Cleaned up and sent to client/agency after a quick superficial review to make sure nothing has been deleted or changed, as formatting often is.

My question is two-fold:

1) Is there any better Quality Assurance / Quality Control step or measure that I am missing or not doing correctly?

2) When and if you get edits back (I usually get the FINAL version without Tracked changes), which is the best - and most accurate - way of ensuring that any edits or changes are updated into the TM?

I usually just open my working TRADOS version (with both source/language), edit the TU in question and then use SET/CLOSE to save it to the TM. But this is time-consuming and not always foolproof (as I have discovered in the past).

Is there a better way?

Any and all input from more experienced users is more than welcome!

Thanks!

Susanne

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
my 2c Oct 11, 2006