Thread poster: Susanne Lomander
Susanne Lomander
Susanne Lomander  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 19:41
Swedish to English
+ ...
Feb 12, 2007

I have been using Trados for 7 years, and although Multiterm 7 is a vast improvement on previous versions in many ways, one extremely frustrating issue is the autocratic naming (numbering) and saving of termbases - without consulting me!!

In the past, I could easily create new termbases for my different language combinations and subjects, and choose what to call them and where to save them, even change their name in Windows Explorer and then just "pick them up" using MT.

... See more
I have been using Trados for 7 years, and although Multiterm 7 is a vast improvement on previous versions in many ways, one extremely frustrating issue is the autocratic naming (numbering) and saving of termbases - without consulting me!!

In the past, I could easily create new termbases for my different language combinations and subjects, and choose what to call them and where to save them, even change their name in Windows Explorer and then just "pick them up" using MT.

Now I have a huge mess of multiple termbases, because MT7 saves all new termbases in a default folder (or are they duplicates of the ones I save in my own folders?), and numbers them internally instead of saving them with the same name that I give them inside MT7. So now I cannot figure out which one is the "latest" version, or which one is which.

The result is that I have probably around 20-30 MT7 termbases saved in different locations on my computer, probably with quite a few duplicates, and no way of organizing them the way I want.

One main reason for keeping a more organized track of my MT termbases is for backup purposes, and because I constantly swich from my PC to my laptop, and want to easily locate and copy the termbase I was just working on. This file management is critical for my work, and I find that MT7 has completely screwed up my system.