Thread poster: William Pairman
William Pairman
William Pairman  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:01
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
Apr 9, 2007

Just that basically - no green or yellow boxes, just the {} symbol at the beginning of the sentence

Trados 7.5.0 Build 759 Office/Word XP

Mulyadi Subali
Mulyadi Subali  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 08:01
English to Indonesian
+ ...
use new tm Apr 9, 2007

i don't know how this can happen, but i usually managed to get around it by using or changing to new/different tm.

Nesrin
Nesrin  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:01
English to Arabic
+ ...
You probably clicked "Undo" a few times too many... Apr 9, 2007

I'm no Trados expert, but this happened to me a couple of times before, when I'd clicked "Undo" a few times too many (so it takes you back to a stage in the middle of the segment opening/closing process. Try clicking "Undo" some more times until the cursor is somewhere at the end of the text to be edited and the symbol {} has disappeared.

Vauwe
Vauwe
English to German
+ ...
Look in the archives Apr 9, 2007

The problem has been discussed here several times. The solution in the archive

Vito Smolej
Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Trados is confused... Apr 9, 2007

...over something, for instance it could be a form feed character (new page), where a new line is expected.

The bracket indicates unfinished business - the program just gave up on the candidate segment. And dont ask me why (g).

You can edit the two characters away and play with the context - on one hand, who cares about it, in the worst case you can manually insert the target into the finished document. otoh it's a bother to have this kind of weirdos sticking out of
... See more
...over something, for instance it could be a form feed character (new page), where a new line is expected.