Embedded tags in Trados - what to do?
Thread poster: Rose Oakes

Rose Oakes  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:43
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 6, 2007

Hello all,

Apologies in advance if this is a silly question. I have been sent a short test translation and am using Trados 7.0 on it.

Most of the segments have just one tag at the beginning and one at the end.

However, there are a couple of segments that also have tags "embedded" within the segment. I translated the text inside these tags using the "tag protection on/off" function, but after saving the work and re-opening it, this text does not appear in the target segment.

I then tried to do it in Tag Editor, but this was worse as the text between the "embedded" tags did not even appear in the source segment.

What am I doing wrong? or am I attempting an impossible task with the normal Trados workbench? I am a Trados beginner, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Direct link Reply with quote

Monika Coulson  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:43
Member (2001)
English to Albanian
+ ...
SDL Trados Support May 6, 2007

Hello Rose,
Please note that I have moved this topic to SDL Trados Support forum.

Monika

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:43
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Read the section about inserting TAGs in the manual May 6, 2007

Use the tutorial provided with your Trados copy.
Look in the help file for "inserting TAGs".

Generaly speaking, TAGs must appear in the target sentence in the same order and complete.

For example, if your source sentence is:
<paragraph>This is a <b>red</b> car.<br>
your translation mus read:
<paragraph>Das ist ein <b>rotes</b> Auto.<br>.

If there is no translation in your Translation Memory, the easiest way to assure TAGs being placed correctly is to copy source segment (ALT+INS). If there is already a translation, use the commands "Insert placeable" (ALT+ARROW LEFT/DOWN/RIGHT).