https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/92009-trados_tageditor%3A_do_i_have_to_leave_the_tags.html

Trados TagEditor: do I have to leave the tags?
Thread poster: Paula Hernández
Paula Hernández
Paula Hernández
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:13
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 15, 2007

Hi everyone,

I am trying to learn how to use Trados, I am practising on my own and, despite all the manuals that come with the program itself, a few doubts still arise every so often.

I was wondering, do I have to add the tags in the target text? Every time I validate a translation a dialoge box appears saying that there are a few tags missing, and if I want to continue anyway.

Thanks for your help!!!
Paula

Cristina Cajoto
Cristina Cajoto  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:13
English to Spanish
+ ...
Yes Dec 15, 2007

Hi Paula,

Not that I am an expert in Trados but from what I know all the tags have to be identical in both texts, otherwise the target text would look different from the original, as the tags contain information about formats, pictures...

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Cristina.

Ade Indarta
Ade Indarta  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 07:13
Member (2007)
English to Indonesian
Copy the source text Dec 15, 2007

Hi Paula,

In order to avoid missing any tag, usually I copy the text source, along with the tags, and then translate the source word into the target word without touching the tag.

Regards,

Ade

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 03:13
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Move unnecessary tags to the end of the segment Dec 15, 2007

If you do not need a tag, move it behind the text, so it won't spoil anything and TE is satisfied.
And ask your customers to remove line-breaks from the text in dtp-files, they are a nuisance when translating.

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
FYI: This topic has been moved to SDL Trados Support forum Dec 15, 2007