Thread poster: Djamila Vilcsko
Djamila Vilcsko
Djamila Vilcsko  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 09:31
English to German
Mar 13, 2008

Hello,

I own SDL Trados Freelance 2007 and thought it would be very easy to translate *asp files in Tag Editor. Turns out it's not that easy...
I am still rather new with Trados but so far I have easily picked up the translation of ppt, doc, xls files and the Trados manual states that *asp files can be translated in Tag Editor without much preparation. I have read the manual on tag setting files and tried to understand it, but when it comes to using the tag setting wizard and
... See more
Hello,

I own SDL Trados Freelance 2007 and thought it would be very easy to translate *asp files in Tag Editor. Turns out it's not that easy...
I am still rather new with Trados but so far I have easily picked up the translation of ppt, doc, xls files and the Trados manual states that *asp files can be translated in Tag Editor without much preparation. I have read the manual on tag setting files and tried to understand it, but when it comes to using the tag setting wizard and what elements to enable etc, i am totally lost.
Could it be that the client actually has to provide a file where the structure of the asp files is defined? I mean, how am I even supposed to know how to set up the tag settings file? The client sent me a bunch of asp files + a *css file for the style setting....I figure the *css file contains what I need but the manual never mentions css files but only *ini files.