Extremely cheap software
Thread poster: Edward Potter

Edward Potter  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:45
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 11, 2005


I'm quite suspicious about this web site as I cannot find their address or phone number anywhere. The "About Us" option says nothing about them, other than how great they are.

Can anyone confirm what I suspect?


gianfranco  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:45
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
Unsafe and suspicious Nov 11, 2005

I share yuor concerns about the legitimacy of their "downloads".

Extracted from their FAQs page:

Why is the software so inexpensive?

We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only!

So, no license!??, on the basis that they sell for "private" purposes only... a novel concept on selling commercial products... I just wonder if the makers agree on their interpretation...

Moreover, on another level, I would not trust my credit card details to an unknown and unidentified vendor such as this.
If they show no details, I don't show them the color of my credit card. End of the story.


[Edited at 2005-11-11 11:27]


Jaroslaw Michalak  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:45
Member (2004)
English to Polish
Funny, but scary too... Nov 11, 2005

This is the most professionally looking pirated software site I've ever seen... I bet some would fall for this.

They state that the manufacturers cannot provide support for the software - no wonder, they do not know that it is being soldicon_smile.gif


Daniele Martoglio  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:45
Polish to Italian
+ ...
They are in BELIZE, near Guatemala :) let's send email to Bill? (Gates) Nov 11, 2005

if the company name is "Jungle Ventures" how they
could be something else than piratesicon_wink.gif

Whois Server Version 1.3

Registered through YourDomainsHere.com
Your first offshore domain registar
Belize,Belize City,99 Albert Street
Forward abuses to http://yourdomainshere.com

Domain name: megaoemsoftware.com

Ryan Kelly (SROW-254191)
99 Albert Street
Belize City Belize
3981 BZ
+1 909498042 fax: +1 909498042

Administrative contact:
Ryan Kelly (SRCO-392651)
Jungle Ventures inc.
99 Albert Street
Belize City Belize
4591 BZ
+1 909498042 fax: +1 909498042

Technical contact:
Ryan Kelly (SRCO-392651)
Jungle Ventures inc.
99 Albert Street
Belize City Belize
4591 BZ
+1 909498042 fax:+1 909498042

Domain servers in listed order:


Daniele Martoglio  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:45
Polish to Italian
+ ...
Very very interesting.. Nov 11, 2005

I founded that they use "Money Transfer Job Scams" to CLEAN the money earned with selling piracy software. The same "Jungle Ventures inc" it's involved in one scam described here:


Money Transfer Job Scams: November 2005

No legitimate company will use bank accounts of private individuals for processing payments from its customers. No legitimate business will pay 5% and more for international money transfers (for example, $250 out of $5000), when banks provide such services for only $30-50 per transaction and businesses and individuals can set up their own bank accounts in other countries if needed. No legitimate company uses private individuals to receive parcels and remail them.
Job offers on the internet such as the ones listed here involve stolen money and stolen goods. If you participate in these scams, even without criminal intent, you could be held liable and face criminal charges.


Sven Petersson  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:45
English to Swedish
+ ...
I don’t understand ... Nov 11, 2005

I don’t understand why some of those who are criminally inclined are willing to pay megaoemsoftware for what they could obtain for free on Kazaa.


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

Moderator(s) of this forum
Fernanda Rocha[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Extremely cheap software

Advanced search

Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business

Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.

More info »
SDL Trados Studio 2017 Freelance
The leading translation software used by over 250,000 translators.

SDL Trados Studio 2017 helps translators increase translation productivity whilst ensuring quality. Combining translation memory, terminology management and machine translation in one simple and easy-to-use environment.

More info »

  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search