Thread poster: valfrhg
valfrhg
valfrhg
Local time: 09:01
English to French
+ ...
May 21, 2006

Hello,

Could anyone tell me if there are any advantages to using Trados over wordfast? I'm thinking of switching back to Wordfast, which I used at the very beginning. I've been using Trados for a couple years on an emulator on my Mac, but that dongle is such a pain when you're using a laptop. Also, is there an equivalent of tagEditor on Wordfast, or do you even need TagEditor (I can't use it with Trados right now, since I don't know how to input accents on French words in TagEditor
... See more
Hello,

Could anyone tell me if there are any advantages to using Trados over wordfast? I'm thinking of switching back to Wordfast, which I used at the very beginning. I've been using Trados for a couple years on an emulator on my Mac, but that dongle is such a pain when you're using a laptop. Also, is there an equivalent of tagEditor on Wordfast, or do you even need TagEditor (I can't use it with Trados right now, since I don't know how to input accents on French words in TagEditor, and translation agencies have been pretty understanding about that so far).

Thanks,

Val
Collapse

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 16:01
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
No equivalent for Tageditor May 21, 2006

Newer versions of Trados come with software license, no dongle anymore. So you rather should update your trados instead of investing in Wordfast, which is more restricted.

Regards
Heinrich

Tadej Kokalj
Tadej Kokalj  Identity Verified
Slovenia
Local time: 15:01
English to Slovenian
+ ...
How often do you really need TE? May 21, 2006

If you use TE to translate from rtf files, you can do same thing with WF, opening rtf in Word.

If translate a lot of raw DTP files you still can open them in TE and export source as rtf and translate in WF. After tranlation cleanup with TWB and rerun in TE.