Convince me to keep using Wordfast!
Thread poster: Daina Jauntirans

Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:40
German to English
+ ...
May 30, 2006

I have been using WF for a few years now and was generally happy with it both in terms of the product itself and support, until recently. See the WF forum under CAT Tools Support - I have posted three problems I've had witnin the last 2 weeks: embedded graphics being eliminated from files, original font colors being lost, and now a PPT translation not updating.

Unfortunately, I am increasingly getting highly formatted Word docs to translate and PPT always come in, too. Regardless of whether essentially doing DTP in Word is advisable or not, that's what customers do. I feel as if it's at a point where these three problems eliminate the productivity gains from WF.

I do post here and search the Yahoo Group when I have a problem, but these are issues I have not found good, easy solutions to - makes me think it's a problem with the system, not just a glitch. That said, I do have trouble following some of the discussions on the Yahoo Group because I don't know WF as in-depth as the people there, so maybe I'm just missing something?

What do you think I should do? Study up on WF, find a class, better documentation, etc.? Or should I finally make the switch to Trados? Does Trados handle these features better than WF?

[Edited at 2006-05-30 13:46]

[Edited at 2006-05-30 13:50]

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 07:40
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Know your tools May 30, 2006

Daina Jauntirans wrote:
What do you think I should do? Study up on WF, find a class, better documentation, etc.? Or should I finally make the switch to Trados?