Translation in Adobe - need advice
Thread poster: Aleksus (X)
Aleksus (X)
Aleksus (X)
Local time: 03:28
English to Russian
Jun 13, 2008

I need to do a job in Adobe acrobat which involves translating and type-setting data sheets. I have never worked in this format before. What program do I need to do the job? How easy/difficult is it to learn/start? And how much more do you usually charge for that kind of job compared to a straight Word translation?
Many thanks, A.

Renée van Bijsterveld
Renée van Bijsterveld  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 04:28
Member (2007)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Tageditor Jun 13, 2008

Some Adobe format files (like InDesign files and other) can be edited in Tageditor (SDL/Trados). It's worth trying...

Riens Middelhof
Riens Middelhof  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
typesetting is DTP... Jun 13, 2008

... and involves assuring the legibility of the text flow, spacing and kerning between letters and most of all, you will need to know the program to edit it, not just the format.

This type of work is normally done afterwards and charged by the hour. Believe me, InDesign is NOT a program that you would like to learn to use of a spare weekend!

Marie-Céline GEORG
Marie-Céline GEORG  Identity Verified
France
German to French
+ ...
Acrobat is not for editing Jun 13, 2008

If you mean that you have to translate a PDF file, don't forget that it's not meant to be edited, as it is only a "picture" of a file created with another software - Word, Adobe Indesign or something else.

If you can get the source file and work directly in its format, you will be able to give back a translation with the same layout as the source.

If not, the easiest way is to create a Word file to translate the text (maybe you can extract it from the pdf). Then the cu
... See more