Agnieszka Tomeczek  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 04:57
Member (2009)
Polish to English
+ ...
May 12, 2009

Dear Colleagues,

As I am fairly new to translation (have been interpreting so far) I would like to ask you for help in a rather technical matter. I've been faced with a request for quotation for a translation of a text sent to me in the print. Additionally, part of this text is handwritten and the handwriting is barely legible...
Hence I would appreciate your suggestions on the following:

1) Is there any faster way to count the words without scanning each and ever
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

As I am fairly new to translation (have been interpreting so far) I would like to ask you for help in a rather technical matter. I've been faced with a request for quotation for a translation of a text sent to me in the print. Additionally, part of this text is handwritten and the handwriting is barely legible...
Hence I would appreciate your suggestions on the following:

1) Is there any faster way to count the words without scanning each and every single page and then using OfficeWord to count it for me? Mind you, there are some 200 pages with very varied amount of text on each.

2) a part of the same job is a bundle of handwritten documents and the handwriting is really hard to read - again is there any software/trick/proven method to first count the words and second make sense of them?

Thank you.

Agnieszka
Collapse

Boris Sigalov
Boris Sigalov
Local time: 05:57
English to Russian
Working with hard copies and non-editable formats May 12, 2009

Agnieszka,

In order to count words and convently work with the text you get as a hard copy you should:

1) to scan the whole text

2) to use an OCR program for converting the result into editable format (MS Word or similar)

Please note that it's practically impossible to OCR handwritten text.