Software for Four In-House Translators
Thread poster: Jocasta
Jocasta
Local time: 18:36
German to English
Sep 21, 2011

Stepping into the world of CAT has been a bit of a shock. I have been a traditional-style translator for 5 years, but have recently started working in an academic research facility part-time, along with 3 other part-time translators, one of whom works remotely.

'The Man' has asked for information on software to ensure/ assist in consistency - many of the terms we use are very specific, and often 'self-made' translations for academic concepts/ elements that do not exist in English.

We are not challenged by formats (straight Word Document to Word Document), nor do we have very much repetition at all - which makes me think we need more an automated glossary.

Is this worth buying a software package? Or are there other alternatives?
I am rubbing my temples in bewilderment at the moment - any advice is appreciated!

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Definitely! Sep 21, 2011

Of course it is worth it!

We in the office are four people working for a relatively large number of customers with very specific terminology and wishes, and a server-based CAT tool has done wonders for us. We used workstation-based Trados 2007 licenses before, but have memoQ Server since 2009 and love it. It serves this kind of purposes very nicely, in terms of consistency, joint/simultaneous work, and overall quality.

I would certainly get in touch with the manufacturers, www.kilgray.com, so that you can explain your work and requirements and get information about how a server-based solution can serve your needs locally and also over the net for the online translator.

Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
English to French
terminology server? Sep 22, 2011