https://www.proz.com/forum/software_applications/93752-problems_using_texniccenter_cant_get_view_of_document.html

Problems using TeXnicCenter - can't get view of document
Thread poster: Mary Moritz
Mary Moritz
Mary Moritz  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:42
Member (2007)
French to English
Jan 10, 2008

Hi,

I’ve downloaded TexnicCenter on MiTex to work with a client’s document (the most recent versions). I’m only proofreading and editing, not translating.

As I edit, I want to be able to see the document in .pdf or .dvi form to make sure what I’m doing is correct (I have NO experience with LaTex).

The software works well when I do test runs of small documents I’ve created myself from the brief tutorials I’ve done online and gives me a .pdf view
... See more
Hi,

I’ve downloaded TexnicCenter on MiTex to work with a client’s document (the most recent versions). I’m only proofreading and editing, not translating.

As I edit, I want to be able to see the document in .pdf or .dvi form to make sure what I’m doing is correct (I have NO experience with LaTex).

The software works well when I do test runs of small documents I’ve created myself from the brief tutorials I’ve done online and gives me a .pdf view when I « build and view ».

The problem is that when I open my client’s document and try to do the same, I can’t get a view either in .pdf or .dvi.

The messages I receive are :
1) LaTex error : file llncs.cls not found
2) Emergency stop 1.5 \use package
3) Fatal error occured, no PDF file produced.

After surfing on line I found some forums that gave advice on downloading the llncs.cls file (which I did) and putting it in the mitex\bin location. Did that and the problem is still happening.
I also found advice that said I need to import tex commands, because my document has commands that the software doesn’t comprehend yet. I tried to do that using the client’s document as the root dir looking for packages, but again, nothing changed.

Can anyone help ? Thanks
Mary