Traducir en Mexico
Thread poster: BorisPuig
BorisPuig
Spain
Local time: 23:05
German to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 3, 2004

Apreciados traductores y traductoras,

Les estaria muy agradecido si algun traductor/a me pudiera ayudar. Quisiera saber que tipo de requisitos tendria que presentar para poder ejercer la traduccion en Mexico. Me refiero a documentos legales y requisitos economicos, en casa que decidiera probar suerte en Mexico durante una larga temporada.
Soy un recien licenciado español. Si alguien conoce de algun caso de lagun amigo o conocido , le agradeceria que me lo comunicara.

Muchas gracias

Direct link Reply with quote

Lesley Clarke  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 16:05
Spanish to English
work in Mexico Feb 3, 2004

Well, the most important thing, that you need to work in Mexico is a work permit (FM3). I can't say how hard that is to get as I was already the mother of a Mexican when I applied, but I believe you'd need to be able to prove that you are a fully trained translator by profession.

Bienvenidos a la Página del Instituto Nacional de Migración
... con Internet Explorer® 5.0 o superior y Macromedia Flash® 6.0 Todos los derechos
reservados para el Instituto Nacional de Migración Visualización óptima ...
www.inami.gob.mx/ - 8k - 1 Feb 2004 - En caché - Páginas similares

MANUAL DE TRÁMITES MIGRATORIOS DEL INSTITUTO NACIONAL DE MIGRACIÓN DE LA SECRETARÍA
DE GOBERNACIÓN CIRCULAR número 014/2000, por la que se da a conocer el ...
www.consulmexny.org/eng/downloadable_files/ MANUAL_TRAMITES.p

Once you have the work permit then you can get a tax number, without a tax number you wouldn't get much work.
Legal translations: each state has its own competitions for "peritos". In Mexico City these competitions are few and far apart. But you can work for agencies. As anywhere it takes a year or two to get started.

Laurent Slowack  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Working in Mexico Feb 3, 2004