Which version of DNS 10 to buy?
Thread poster: Domenica Nieddu

Domenica Nieddu  Identity Verified
United States
English to Italian
+ ...
Aug 27, 2009

Hello,

Excuse my ignorance, but I am pretty new at speech recognition for translators. Would you suggest a version of DNS 10 to buy (among Standard, Preferred, and Professional)? I see that the Standard version is only $49, but will it allow me to work with CAT tools? Does it work only with Word? Also, will the Standard version work with the Italian language? Thank you. Domenica

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicolas Coyer  Identity Verified
Colombia
Local time: 13:58
Spanish to French
+ ...
Works with CAT and Word Aug 27, 2009

Ciao Domenica,

I use DNS v8.1 Standard with Word, TagEditor, SDLX and other sw, and it works pretty well.
You need to account for a learning window for the software, where you teach it how you pronounce such and such words, or words that it does not have in its dictionary.

Good luck!
Nicolas

[Modifié le 2009-08-27 20:00 GMT]

Richard Walker
Local time: 03:58
Japanese to English
Depends on functionality Aug 27, 2009

It depends on what you mean by "work." The core speech recognition engine is the same regardless of the version. The extra money buys you more functionality. If you're using DNS to translate, I would at the very least make sure to choose a version that allows you to edit the dictionary, because you'll definitely want to add, subtract and modify a few words. You'll probably also find it convenient to be able to create voice commands; even if they are only keystroke sequences, they can save you enormous amounts of time. Also consider what kind of microphone you're likely to use. If you want Bluetooth or voice recorder compatibility, you'll have to spend more.