Thread poster: Alan Corbo, CT

Alan Corbo, CT  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 03:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 18, 2010

Hi,

Just wanted to ask a couple of questions about Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.5 (DNS), as I'm new in the field of speech recognition.

Sometimes (not always), when using Trados (I use SDLX 2007) together with DNS, I have to manually start sentences with upper case, since Word won't do it automatically (you know that when you start a new sentence in Word, the program automatically starts it with upper case, even if you didn't press the Shift key). I've noticed that only happens sometimes, and only when I use DNS software (ie, sometimes it works allright with DNS, sometimes not). Is there something I have to do so that I don't have to manually change lower case for upper case when using DNS? It's quite a pain to have to go back to the beginning of the sentence to do that.

And another thing: is there any way to add commands to DNS so that if performs Trados functions (ie, open, get, close, etc.) using speech recognition?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Alan

Direct link Reply with quote

LegalTrans D  Identity Verified
Turkey
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
Start your sentence with "caps" Jan 18, 2010

This problem has been discussed many times, Alan, and it seems that there isn't really a good work-around. The thing I (and apparently many others) do is that I start a new SDLX segment with the command "caps", if it needs to be capitalized. After a while, this has become so much of a habit that I do it automatically without even thinking of it.

Certain SDLX functions will work with DNS (e.g. "go to next segment"); many of them won't. I would strongly encourage you to upgrade to v. 10, though, as it is a quantum leap both in recognition accuracy and in the number of functions DNS will be able to perform within SDLX.