How to get into subtitling
Thread poster: transition10
transition10
transition10
Local time: 13:01
French to English
+ ...
Sep 30, 2011

I'm a London-based freelance translator with an interest in cinema and would like to get into subtitling but all the courses I see offered are out of English (my mother tongue) into a foreign language and not the other way around. Can anyone advise on the best way to get into this field please?

Thanks.

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:01
Spanish to English
+ ...
Contacts in the cinema of your source language Sep 30, 2011

It's interesting to hear there are subtitling courses at all! That's new to me. But I imagine it's not easy for those who finish them to get into the market. That said, there are many reasons why people would want subtitles. There are subtitles for the deaf (which aren't the same as the script, even when they're in the same language as the film), subtitling for premieres, subtitling for film festivals and subtitling for media producers. I suppose it's a matter of parking yourself where such grou... See more
It's interesting to hear there are subtitling courses at all! That's new to me. But I imagine it's not easy for those who finish them to get into the market. That said, there are many reasons why people would want subtitles. There are subtitles for the deaf (which aren't the same as the script, even when they're in the same language as the film), subtitling for premieres, subtitling for film festivals and subtitling for media producers. I suppose it's a matter of parking yourself where such groups of interest can find you.