What are the most important/useful features of a Subtitle Editor?
Thread poster: Jarek Kulikowski

Jarek Kulikowski
Canada
Local time: 18:02
Polish to English
May 17

I am a developer and a translator. I am writing a Web Application for Editing Subtitles which serves my purposes very well. It occurred to me that others might like it also, but I am not sure what other features would be useful. Any suggestions are welcome.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jarek Kulikowski
Canada
Local time: 18:02
Polish to English
TOPIC STARTER
The idea of https://captionflow.com May 21

There seems to be no interest in this topic, at least thus far. Perhaps it might be helpful to provide the URL of the tool I am building ( https://captionflow.com ) and say a few things about it.

A few years ago, while watching an old Polish film I realized that there is great wealth of cultural resources which is effectively inaccessible to the English public; specifically my kids who have inherited much of my cultural, yet, values knowing very little about their source. Solution: translate it yourself.

I looked around for some tools only to discover that that there wasn't much available. Sure, there was a plethora applications which gave you precise position of a subtitle frame to within 1/30 of a second, there were different file formats, bells and whistles of all kinds. But all I wanted to do was to take Polish sentence and come up with its English equivalent. Of course, every translator knows what that entails, and more importantly, how much effort it takes to get it 'right'. The challenge was to build some kind of Application that would allow a translator to focus on the actual job, rather that just become an expert in the technical aspects of their trade.