Thread poster: Rene Kottke (X)
Rene Kottke (X)
Rene Kottke (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:23
German to English
+ ...
Oct 15, 2007

Hi everybody,

I'm a translator in Germany and I'd like to do some subtitling wrk. Only problem, I don't, know how to do get some ork in this field. Oh, it's actually not the only problem, I also don't know whether or not there are special requirements you don't automatically comply to just becaue you're a freelance tanslator. Could someone help me get some insights on that topic.

Thans a lot in advance

Rene

simona dachille
simona dachille  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:23
Italian to English
look in past forums... there's plenty of info Oct 15, 2007

look in past forums... there's plenty of info

Juan Jacob
Juan Jacob  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 05:23
French to Spanish
+ ...
Beware. Oct 15, 2007

Subtitling or translation FOR subtitling?
Two very different things people not always understand.
Translation FOR subtitling has it's requierements, of course. Please see the ad hoc forum right here.
Subtitling itself has almost nothing to do with translation: it's a technical process.
Good luck.

[Editado a las 2007-10-15 22:40]

[Editado a las 2007-10-15 22:46]

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 08:23
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Three successive steps Oct 16, 2007

The subtitling process involves three sucessive steps, which may be carried out by one, two, or three people.

1. Translation

The key variable in the process (I'm not discussing the language pair involved, not the type of film, viz. epic, technical, etc.) for some translators is whether the original script is provided or not. Some translators simply won't touch it unless the script is provided. Others will charge a lot more if it isn't. And there are those (my cas
... See more