Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How long would it take to learn Chinese?
Thread poster: bangersandmash
May 13, 2012

Hello everyone,

First, a brief background summary: I was born and brought up in England, graduated with a Bachelor of Music (Hons) in 2008, and then in 2010 became a citizen of, and moved to, New Zealand, where I have been doing live transcription of Court hearings (a job I dearly love) ever since. While I was at university I taught myself a little bit of Cantonese, and joined a meetup group to practise. I didn't have a lot of time for this, so I ended up with just enough to have a halting conversation with a stranger, but I loved it and sincerely miss it now. There's something very addictive and delightful about a tonal language - probably because I'm a classically-trained musician (violin and singing).

Anyway, the point is I've been considering learning Chinese seriously, with a long-term goal of interpreting. I have no illusions as to how hard this would be: the reality is I'd have to learn characters, learn Mandarin formally, spend a while living in a Chinese-speaking country or city until my competence was up to scratch, and then worry about getting a degree in translation/interpreting. On top of this, I am 28, but on the upside I am good with words and language and have a reasonable ear.

There is no way I'm going to spend any time in Mainland China. Sorry, but for health reasons it's out of the question. That leads me to Hong Kong. Is this a reasonable possibility? HKU's Chinese Language department teaches these courses (two years each)
http://web.chinese.hku.hk/putonghua%20and%20cantonese/c2.html
Even with the ability at the end to write 400 character essays, that is hardly going to be enough to justify a degree in translation. It probably wouldn't be enough to even do a degree there, but it's better than the local courses here in New Zealand.