Wish to become interpreter/translator, where to start?
Thread poster: Olgaaglo

Olgaaglo
United Kingdom
Sep 6, 2013

Hi everyone, I hope u can help me with advise. I'm planing to start russian and English BA course in Nottingham University next year, but in addition to that planning to do Certificate in bilingual skills CBS course. My only concern is that it my be a waste of time. Wonder if any one can advise me where I better start if I'm wish to do interpreting/ translating job while I'm studying?

LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:34
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi. Do you speak Russian fluently? Sep 6, 2013

That might be the start. I assume English is your L1.For interpreting purposes you must be first close to bilingual, and then take certain courses. It might be different with translation, although not that significantly different.

You may consider studying the language in Russia first, for a year or two.

If you are bilingual, a university course, or program might be a good idea. I don't think you need more than two semesters for interpreting.

[Edited at 2013-09-06 14:33 GMT]

Olgaaglo
United Kingdom
TOPIC STARTER
Hi thank you for reply Sep 6, 2013

Yes russian is my 1 language, I'm originally from Latvia, but went to Russian school.

United States
Russian to English
+ ...
Oh, great. Sep 6, 2013

Then you can take any university short program. They may need interpreters in the court system, and in the healthcare system. You may contact some hospitals in the UK --I am sure they always need interpreters.

[Edited at 2013-09-06 16:23 GMT]

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member for the following reason: empty

Olgaaglo
United Kingdom
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you for your advise Sep 6, 2013

will have to look into it, I have year till I start university course.

Triston Goodwin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:34
Spanish to English
+ ...
Shadowing Sep 6, 2013