https://www.proz.com/forum/teaching_and_learning_languages/43548-the_importance_of_being_native.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
The importance of being Native
Thread poster: meladui
meladui
meladui
Local time: 02:52
Italian to English
+ ...
Mar 8, 2006

Hi, I'm looking for some advice / help with this issue:
I am a qualified teacher of English as a Foreign language, but my application has been rejected by a few schools on the ground that I am not a 'native' speaker.
I was born in Italy, have an Italian passport, and did my schooling in Italy up to the age of 16; however most people, when they hear me speaking English, think that I am from the UK, as my English is as good, and maybe better, than that of many British people. This is n
... See more
I am a qualified teacher of English as a Foreign language, but my application has been rejected by a few schools on the ground that I am not a 'native' speaker.
I was born in Italy, have an Italian passport, and did my schooling in Italy up to the age of 16; however most people, when they hear me speaking English, think that I am from the UK, as my English is as good, and maybe better, than that of many British people. This is not taken into consideration because I don't even get to the interview stage. My application is rejected 'on paper' by people who haven't spoken to me and communicated by e-mail.
My question is then: can I say that I am a Native speaker on the grounds that 1 they wouldn't be able to tell and 2 did any of you speak any language the very moment they were born?
Collapse

Aleksandr Okunev (X)
Aleksandr Okunev (X)
Local time: 03:52
English to Russian
The good school is still ahead of you. Mar 8, 2006

It is one thing to use the language; it is quite another to understand how it works. (Antony Burgess, Joysprick)

I would also add that being a non-native is a major advantage because you know all the difficulties people have learning THE language.