Thread poster: Thor Henrik Braarvig

Thor Henrik Braarvig  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 01:26
German to Norwegian
+ ...
Mar 26, 2015

Hi there!

I'm totally new to Transit NXT and I don't understand why the source text is displayed in the editors target language window.

When working with Trados Studio I just translate one segment, then use a shortcut to confirm the segment and jump to then next one. After doing that I can start translating the next segment immediately, without having to delete any text first. Is this possible with Transit NXT also?

It would be very much extra work if I would have to mark every segment with the mouse and then delete it before I can even start translating.

I would be very happy if somebody would tell me that there is a workaround for this.

I also wonder: Why doesn't a standard shortcut like Ctrl + A (to mark an entire segment) work in Transit?

Kind regards,
Thor

Karen_E
United Kingdom
Local time: 00:26
Shortcuts Mar 26, 2015

Hi Thor,

The keyboard shortcut to confirm a segment is Alt+Insert.

Transit leaves the source in the target window for you to overwrite. If you don't like that, though, there is a function which will empty the next segment when you confirm the previous one with Alt+Insert.

Go to the Processing ribbon and click on the "Confirm" drop-down under the big green tick on the left. There should be an option there called "Empty next segment". Select that, and next time you use Alt+Insert, the next segment you leap to will be wiped clean for you.

Hope that helps!

Thor Henrik Braarvig  Identity Verified
Norway
Local time: 01:26
German to Norwegian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks... Mar 26, 2015

Thanks Karen!