International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

Your views and suggestions about jobs in OZ are needed here
Thread poster: doraemoninchina
doraemoninchina
Local time: 21:23
Sep 14, 2009

Dear all,

My question might be a bit irrelavant for translation. However, I wish if someone here could kindly offer me some hints or suggestions on landing a job in OZ.

I am now working in a foreign government's consulate in China with 3 years experience as cultural event manager & personal assistant for consuls. During my work, I am mainly responsible for spearheading all the cultural events and giving interpretation and translation upon need (like translating foreign ministry's documents and declarations). I graduated as an M.A. in general linguistics and applied linguistics and B.A. in Master, & minor in Finance.

Next year, I am planning to migrate with my husband who is a permanent resident there. We may need to start from scratch......

I heard from various channels that it is hard to land a job and my worst-of-all plan is to start with being waitress...However, I wish to get from any one here a true picture of the job market in OZ. What do you see my chances of getting a medium-paid job in the field of Public Relations & Administrations there...Shall I really be that pessimistic about finding a ordinary office clerical work?

And since my university is on the list of regconized overseas qualifications, I shall have a fair chance of having a NAATI accreditation (Chinese -English). If I have that done, will it add to my chances of securing a job involving a part of translation or interpretation?