new to Canada - finding conflicting information
Thread poster: Laura Messer
Laura Messer  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2014)
Spanish to English
Sep 9, 2014

Hello everyone,

I recently became a permanent resident of Canada and am now located in Toronto. My previous research (looking at the ATIO and CTTIC websites, etc.) led me to believe that I would be able to work as a freelancer in Canada as long as I did not call myself a "certified translator" and that I could use work experience in translation and client references toward becoming a candidate for certification in Canada and taking the exam. (I have a US bachelor's degree in a language-related field but not in translation studies.)

Recently, I found conflicting information on a website directed toward new immigrants stating that translation is a "regulated profession". See here. This seems like it may be outdated but if anyone can confirm this for me, I would appreciate it!

Direct link Reply with quote

José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 00:09
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Only for oficial purposes Sep 9, 2014

This page should shed some light:
http://www.cttic.org/certification.asp

This means that translations for official purposes in Canada must have been done by certified translators. AFAIK in most - if not all - states in the USA anyone can declare him/herself bilingual, do a translation, take liability for it, sign it before a notary public, and it will be accepted by any governmental body for any purpose whatsoever.

I am a sworn translator licensed by the Brazilian government (yes, Brazil has a federal law on that). Nevertheless, I did some plain translations that someone else in the USA took as their own, took liability, signed before a notary public, and they were accepted for official purposes.

Maxi Schwarz
Local time: 20:09
German to English
+ ...
try to become certified because... Sep 9, 2014