https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_in_the_uk/217454-studying_ma_in_translation_in_uk_best_institutions_for_distance_learning.html

Studying MA In Translation in UK - best institutions for distance-learning
Thread poster: vljp
Feb 2, 2012

Hi,

I'm thinking of taking a sabbatical from my City job to do an MA in translation this coming academic year. I have a degree in Italian & Spanish from the University of Bristol from 2003, so that was my first thought for an MA as well, but it's expensive - £6000 full-time. Does anyone have any recommendations for other university MA Translation courses? I've investigated City University as well, but all the others I can find seem to be campus-based, and in any case I can't seem t
... See more
Hi,

I'm thinking of taking a sabbatical from my City job to do an MA in translation this coming academic year. I have a degree in Italian & Spanish from the University of Bristol from 2003, so that was my first thought for an MA as well, but it's expensive - £6000 full-time. Does anyone have any recommendations for other university MA Translation courses? I've investigated City University as well, but all the others I can find seem to be campus-based, and in any case I can't seem to find a good assessment of teaching quality across the different institutions out there.

My driver for wanting to do the MA is partly for fun - I adored my translation modules at university, particularly literary translation, and miss using my languages - but also to give me more insight into the practicalities of being a translator, to see if I could actually make the career change.

Thanks
Collapse

Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:25
Italian to English
Trying to help Feb 2, 2012

Hi Vjlp

Welcome to the site.