Igor Timko
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:54
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
Jan 10, 2013

Dear all,

I work as a freelance translator in the UK.
I plan to apply for an associate membership (ACIL) at the Chartered Institute of Linguists (IoL).
In their instructions (Criteria for Membership, http://www.iol.org.uk/membership/CriteriaforMembershipOct08.pdf), they say that I need to list two referees.
My questions is:
... See more
Dear all,

I work as a freelance translator in the UK.
I plan to apply for an associate membership (ACIL) at the Chartered Institute of Linguists (IoL).
In their instructions (Criteria for Membership, http://www.iol.org.uk/membership/CriteriaforMembershipOct08.pdf), they say that I need to list two referees.
My questions is:
who qualifies as a referee?
For example, would it be enough to indicate a representative (project manager) of a translation agency I work for?

Thank you in advance,
Igor.
Collapse

XXXphxxx (X)
XXXphxxx (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:54
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Contact the IoL Jan 10, 2013

Igor, I suggest you contact the IoL's Membership Dept. You'll find all their information on the website. You can e-mail or ring them. They are always very helpful and usually very prompt with replies.

564354352 (X)
564354352 (X)  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 22:54
Danish to English
+ ...
Notes & Instructions for CIOL Membership/Fellowship Application Form Jan 10, 2013

Hi Igor

I recently received the relevant application form and instructions from the CIoL, and they have this to say about referees:

You are required to provide at least 2 referees to support your application.
• Referees should be of responsible position (e.g. your employer, teacher, line-manager,
supervisor, editor, client) and able to comment on your language proficiency and
professional standard.
• Your referees will need to be able to comm
... See more
Hi Igor