https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_in_the_uk/271264-moving_to_london_getting_established_there.html

Moving to London - Getting established there?
Thread poster: Victoria Maravi
Victoria Maravi
Victoria Maravi  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 20:20
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 26, 2014

Hey everyone!

My name is Victoria and I'm 23. I'm currently living in Peru, but I just found out I received a scholarship at a uni in London to complete my undergraduate studies (Linguistics & Creative Writing). I'll be moving this September. After I graduate (start of 2016), I'm hoping to do a masters in Translation and Interpreting.

I have about four years of experience doing translations and transcript
... See more
Hey everyone!

My name is Victoria and I'm 23. I'm currently living in Peru, but I just found out I received a scholarship at a uni in London to complete my undergraduate studies (Linguistics & Creative Writing). I'll be moving this September. After I graduate (start of 2016), I'm hoping to do a masters in Translation and Interpreting.

I have about four years of experience doing translations and transcripts from Spanish to English and vice versa. Mostly I have been referenced by friends and/or acquaintances and I haven't heard any complaints, whether it was at a newspaper company, NGO or an individual. Now that I'm moving to London, I don't know how to find clients who might want Spanish-English translators. What can I do to get myself established once I'm there?

Thank you very much!
Collapse

Barbara Bonatti Divers
Barbara Bonatti Divers  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:20
English to Italian
join ITI Jun 27, 2014

Dear Viictoria, how exciting, well done!

Join the Institute of Translation and Interpreting without delay and come to the Conference in April in Newcastle, if you can.
As soon as possible go for the Qualified Member status (MITI), to get your name listed on their website. It's a great way to be "found" by clients.