Six freelancing dreams examined

This discussion belongs to Translation news » "Six freelancing dreams examined".
You can see the translation news page and participate in this discussion from there.

Well Translated
United States
Local time: 00:09
English to Spanish
+ ...
Freelancers dream on Aug 10, 2010

Well, according to the Freelancer's Union, close to a third of the workforce is freelancing. This is clearly not a fad, but the wave of the future.
I love your list Romina...but some of those dreams have yet to materialize for me. Though, while reading the list, it seemed like some of those dreams read more like myths.

1. As a freelancer, I will work fewer hours. Only if I were to earn what my highest client is currently willing to pay me.

2. As a freelancer, I will take only those projects I like. Not so fast. After 5 years, I still need to commit to less than ideal ones from time to time. Therefore, the need to specialize and concentrate.

3. As a freelancer, I won’t have to deal with difficult people. Dream or myth? You mean, Project Managers at large LSPs, right? I believe difficult people are part of the challenge and I've embraced that as well.

4. I’ll be able to jump right into freelancing and replace my full-time income immediately. Dream or myth? Hold on to your full or part-time paid gig until you have everything in place.

5. Before you can become a freelancer, you need tons of experience. Dream or myth? Not really...but it sure as hell helps!

6. As a freelancer, I will hire others to do the most difficult tasks for me. Not the most difficult but the ones where you feel you are less competent. Get a coach and/or mentor...and of course leave the books to a professional Accountant. If you are ready for a Website, contract a Graphic Designer. Better to spend the money there than elsewhere.