https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_project_vendor_management/246523-should_i_tell_the_client_about_bad_translator_he_used.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Should I tell the client about bad translator he used?
Thread poster: suongmai
suongmai
suongmai  Identity Verified
Vietnam
Local time: 15:17
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
Apr 5, 2013

Hey there,

I accepted a very small job last night which costs only my minimum charge from a new client who is an agency. IT was only 4 sentences to translate and my client sent along with a translated document as reference for me to work.
And i realized that whoever translated the reference document was really bad. If I'm a teacher in translation which i was, I would mark this document only 5 on scale of 10.

Now i wonder if i should tell the client about that. I
... See more
Hey there,

I accepted a very small job last night which costs only my minimum charge from a new client who is an agency. IT was only 4 sentences to translate and my client sent along with a translated document as reference for me to work.
And i realized that whoever translated the reference document was really bad. If I'm a teacher in translation which i was, I would mark this document only 5 on scale of 10.

Now i wonder if i should tell the client about that. I do not want them to think that i judge their translator to have jobs for me (which i do not have any intention to AT ALL), or consider me as someone bad mouth about my colleagues.
But if I do not tell them about that, i feel so uncomfortable... Thinking of me as a client who doesn't understand the language and got this quality of work, I think i would go mad.

Should I tell the client or just let it go?
Collapse

Tatty
Tatty  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:17
Spanish to English
+ ...
No Apr 5, 2013

Forget it, don't get involved. I'm sure this happens all the time.

Stanislav Pokorny
Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Use tracked changes Apr 5, 2013