How much does adaptation from one locale into the same language but a different locale cost?
Thread poster: David Stone
David Stone
David Stone
Chinese to English
May 29, 2014

Hello everyone,

I am a student working on a group project related to translation project management. Our mock translation project includes tasks such as translation from en-us>en-UK. We are trying to figure out how much a language services vendor would charge for same-language translation or adaptation, expressed as a percentage of the cost of translating into a completely different language.

Would "translation" from en-us>en-uk be 50% of the cost of, say a translat
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am a student working on a group project related to translation project management. Our mock translation project includes tasks such as translation from en-us>en-UK. We are trying to figure out how much a language services vendor would charge for same-language translation or adaptation, expressed as a percentage of the cost of translating into a completely different language.

Would "translation" from en-us>en-uk be 50% of the cost of, say a translation from en-us>es-mx? Less even?

In this case we're talking about both software UI and support documents such as web pages and user manuals; in this case I think we mainly just need to make sure we use locale-appropriate terminology, currencies, units etc etc. The project does not have a lot of detail about this stuff other than the word counts, etc. so a crude estimate for this would work just fine for us.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Collapse

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
. May 29, 2014

I do a lot of US to UK English and vice versa, in IT and various other fields. There are usually very few changes, and it usually involves a quick once-over and a minimum charge.

[Edited at 2014-05-29 21:28 GMT]

nrichy (X)
nrichy (X)
France
Local time: 05:36
French to Dutch
+ ...
Same as for proofreading May 29, 2014