Thread poster: Richard Lund
Richard Lund
United States
Local time: 01:18
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 1, 2008

Hi, Folks.
I'm a newb too and was looking for a good general forum. I've used the ProZ term search quite a bit in the past but never got around to signing up. I'm not a freelancer but I'm pretty much flying solo here because I am the only translator for my company. My company recently purchased a copy of SDL TRADOS and has given me the green light to start translating some of our brochures, etc. I'm very happy for the growth opportunity but feeling a little overwhelmed by it all, especially since I've never done CAT before.
Mostly looking for good group of folks who want to share translation tips, tricks and other experiences and I'll do my best to return the favor. Feel free to tell me where to go
Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Marina Soldati  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 03:18
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Welcome to Proz Oct 1, 2008

Hi!

For basic knowledge of Trados, you can visit www.translationzone.com, where you´ll find recorded webinars that contain the basics of Trados Workbench and Multiterm.

You can also search the SDL Trados Support Forum, where you´ll find tips on various functions, or read this guide for dummies (http://life.bizland.com/trados.htm), it was very useful to me when I started using the software.

But the best place to start is reading the documentation that comes with the software.

Regards,
Marina

[Edited at 2008-10-01 20:20]

Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 08:18
Italian to English
Don't forget... Oct 1, 2008

... the TW_users Yahoo group:

http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/TW_users/

which has a useful searchable archive.

Good luck!

Giles

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:18
English to French
+ ...
Also visit Ecolotrain Oct 1, 2008