Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Qualifications - many state that they are capable of translating both to and from their language
Thread poster: Angus Cameron

Angus Cameron  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:23
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
Jul 9, 2009

I know I'm whistling in the wind and am not sure which forum this belongs in but ...

Often, when I go to ProZ, I notice that many of the translators pictured state that they are capable of translating to and from their language pair(s). To me, the implication is that they are bilingual. In more than 25 years as a translator, I think I have encountered only two people whom I would regard as bilingual. Of course, ProZ has to accept self-assessments at face value but one does pity the customer. One of my own language pairs is Dutch-English, and I do a lot of proofreading of English translations here as well. It is clear in many cases that the translations have been made by Dutch-speakers claiming to be fluent in English. I'm sure they can speak it adequately during their travels, but that does not qualify them to make NL-EN translations. The long-term result of lying about your fluency will be to bring translation in general into disrepute, and that is in none of our interests. I also think that situation is not helped by formal "qualifications" dished out by national organisations. As such bodies charge money to sit their "examinations", it is clearly in their interests to set the bar low enough to attract the greatest number of applicants. But, as I say, whistling in the wind ...

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-07-09 11:49 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Low enough? Jul 9, 2009

Angus Cameron wrote: