Thread poster: Savina N Savova

Savina N Savova
Bulgaria
Member (2011)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Sep 14, 2009

Hello,
I am a freelance translator and few days ago a person, claiming he is the author of a book asked me to translate it. Can anyone help me what I should include in my contract as terms, rates per 1000words, etc. Shall I bother about the copywrights and publishers or just to accept this offer as it is? Please, help!
Thanks in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

Edward Vreeburg  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 16:49
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
trust your instincts Sep 14, 2009

If you think this is odd - it probably is, OR you just got incredibly lucky...

Depending on the size of the book (and the amount of work) you probably could ask for an advance, partial payments, some stuff about possible revisions, partial delivery (what if they do not like your translation?)

In general book publishers have very strict payment terms and not very nice contracts, it surprises me this is all negotiable.....

See if you can agree on the price amd dead;ome first, before putting too much energy into the rest of the contract...

===
Ed

Savina N Savova
Bulgaria
Member (2011)
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
re Sep 14, 2009

The book is 110 000 words!!! May I apply 0.09 GBP per surce word? Is it reasonable? Uff, I am so confused...

shfranke  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:49
English to Arabic
+ ...
Echo Edward's good points about a contract and terms of scheduled payments Sep 14, 2009

Greteings.

May I echo and reinforce Edward's good points about your first receiving an executed/signed contract which includes the agreed-upon rate and terms of scheduled payments, before you undertake that large a project.