Types of bad translations
Thread poster: sopterean_oana

sopterean_oana
Italy
Local time: 01:33
English to Romanian
+ ...
Aug 27, 2011

Hello,I am a student of Romanian-English in Romania and I am now entering my final year at University.I have a paper project to do for my final exam,but the first chapter is due to next Thursday.I was wondering if you,considering the fact that you are experienced translators,can give me some examples of what can influence a bad translation.Types of bad translations and their main problem.I would very much like to learn more from you and I am glad I've joined this forum.Thank you!

Direct link Reply with quote

B D Finch  Identity Verified
France
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Not knowing what it is that one doesn't know Aug 27, 2011

Welcome!

This is a deliberately broad answer as not knowing what it is that one doesn't know can apply to knowledge of source and target languages, translation theory, the particular field of knowledge, the linguistic community the text is aimed at, how to research terminology and judge what is the best solution etc.

Then there is the question of who judges quality. I recently did a good translation (though I say so myself) on an arts subject, only to have it completely ruined by changes made by the agency's proofreader, who apparently lacked any sort of art education or familiarity with the field and should have stuck to accountancy translation. I know my translation was good, he thought it wasn't and that he knew better. Of course, one way of settling that would be to ask for the two versions to be run past an English language publisher of art books.

Having reviewed the work of quite a lot of translators, the worst are those who pretend that they are native speakers of the target language when they are not, closely followed by those who are native speakers but have a poor grasp of their own language and those who don't have an adequate understanding of the subtleties of the source language.