Double vs single quotation marks, for the EU/UK English market.
Thread poster: Michael Beijer

Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:11
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Sep 13, 2011

I am a Dutch-English translator working primarily for Dutch and Belgian agencies, and am almost always asked to write in UK English.

Some of my British friends tell me I should use double quotation marks, or 'inverted commas', as they call them.

They point to, e.g.,

BBC.co.uk & guardian.co.uk – which both use double.

... However, I was under the impression that I was supposed to stick to single, as per:

(e.g.,) direct.gov.uk

&

The English Style Guide of the European Commission Directorate-General for Translation:

QUOTATION MARKS

Double vs single quotation marks. Use single quotation marks to signal direct
speech and verbatim quotes, and double quotation marks for quotations within
these. You may also use single quotation marks to identify words and phrases
that are not themselves quotes but to which you wish to draw attention as
lexical items.

I know that basically it is most likely just a matter of personal preference, as long as you are consistent.

The author at http://www.grammartips.homestead.com/singlequotationmark.html has this to say on the matter:

Henry Fowler (Fowler's Modern Usage) claimed that starting with double quotation marks "is clearly less reasonable" (591), but he did not expect the single then double sequence, which he preferred, to maintain its primacy:

. . . as quotation within quotation is much less common than the simple kind, and conspicuousness is desired [for the more common simple quotation], the heavy double mark is the favourite. (591)

At present, even many who follow British usage conventions for other forms of punctuation will use the double mark as their basic form for quotations.

What does your own personal 'style guide' dictate?

Direct link Reply with quote

Barbara Carrara  Identity Verified
Italy