Laura Bissio CT  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 14:03
Member (2008)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 6, 2011

Hi everyone!

I am afraid this may be a silly question, but I need to know what a TAC review is.
I've been a freelancer since 2007 and I hadn't been asked for (nor had heard about) a TAC review so far.
I am not familiar with this acronym. I have searched the web, but I didn't find anything useful.
There is an overwhelming number if definitions in http://www.acronymfinder.com/TAC.html, but I couldn't figure out which one could match this request:
"We have an urgent project in need of your TAC review. The total words are 4205 and we’d like to issue you 2 hours PO."

I wasn't available to take this anyway, but I don't know what they are asking for. What kind of review is this?
I'd appreciate your feedback.

Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:03
English to German
+ ...
Which reminds me... Oct 6, 2011

...of a recent inquiry that read pretty much like this:

"Are you available to carry out an LQA? Deadline is tomorrow EOB. Please find attached the LOC kit, including SOW. Please forward your QA to [first name, last name] for IQC.
Thank you!"

I am not making this up.

BTW (ha! acronym!), I don't know either what TAC means.

Edited for typo

[Edited at 2011-10-06 15:07 GMT]

Helen Zinni  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 18:03
English to Italian
+ ...
Translation Accuracy Check Oct 6, 2011

Hi Laura,

TAC stands for Translation Accuracy Check.

Hope this helps,
Helen

TargamaT  Identity Verified
Syria
Local time: 19:03
Member (2010)
English to Arabic
+ ...
TAC Oct 6, 2011

TAC=translation and communication

Good review!

Donatella Semproni  Identity Verified
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
TAC Oct 6, 2011

Don't know exactly, but I was recently asked to make a Translation Assessment job, and my PO was for 1 hour.

HTH (acronym, again)

Donatella

Uruguay
Member (2008)