Q: How do you approach poorly written source texts?
Thread poster: Artaxiad
Artaxiad
Artaxiad
Norwegian to English
+ ...
May 12, 2004

I guess this is mainly a problem with fiction texts, where the integrity and flair of the author should be taken into consideration.

I'm a student with the University of Oslo in Norway, and am currently taking a course called 'Translation II'. During the run of the course, we've been given several homework assignments, some of which have been extracts of fictional literature. Often poor fictional literature.

'Poor' here (maybe not so) obviously refers to the linguistic
... See more
I guess this is mainly a problem with fiction texts, where the integrity and flair of the author should be taken into consideration.

I'm a student with the University of Oslo in Norway, and am currently taking a course called 'Translation II'. During the run of the course, we've been given several homework assignments, some of which have been extracts of fictional literature. Often poor fictional literature.

'Poor' here (maybe not so) obviously refers to the linguistic parts of the text. I'm not suggesting changing the plot or pace of a text. But when the source text is so poorly written that you feel very able (and tempted, might I add) to give the translation a superior level of linguistic quality; how do you deal with that?

Is it somehow unfaithful not to reproduce, say, repetitive language (when it's clearly not there for stylistic effect), poorly worded sentences or redundant and superfluous writing?`Or is it okay to improve on these in your translation, to raise the standard of the target text?

I feel strongly compelled to do the latter when working with a translation, so I'm wondering if there's any conventional rules or approaches regarding this problem.

Dixi
Artaxiad
Collapse

Marcus Malabad
Marcus Malabad  Identity Verified
Canada
German to English
+ ...
ethics May 12, 2004

http://www.proz.com/topic/21088

Terry Gilman