How to deal with proofreaders' modifications?
Thread poster: Stefan Blommaert
Stefan Blommaert  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 03:06
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 20, 2011

Dear All,

the situation is as follows: as an engineer and linguist, I have been working in the field of intellectual property for 20 years now and mainly carry out translations of patents and technical manuals.

My question is with regard to these patent translations.

Although we all (and I mean ALL of us) make mistakes, I am pretty sure that my translations of patent texts are good, both linguistically and technically speaking, but also from the point of view of patent law (I worked as a patent examiner for many years).

I have a client (an agency) who is a dream to work with but who (apparently) gives my texts to a patent lawyer for proofreading. So far, so good!
I then get the modified translation back so that I can have another look at it. Perfect, as this is what feedback is all about!
Unfortunately, there seems to be one of these patent attorneys (I think it is the same, as he or she keeps coming up with the same type of "modifications") who really makes a mess of things.
Almost without exception, his or her modifications can be classified in one of the following: linguistic errors, grammatical errors, inconsistencies with previous similar texts, use of synonyms and equivalent expressions, and the worst of all: technical nonsense.

As client is king, I tend to "accept" the tracked changes in the translation, and send it back to the agency with a short explanation that I accepted the changes but don't necessarily agree with them.

I am beginning to wonder whether this is a good approach, for the simple reason that I basically disagree with 99% of the changes that sometimes turn the translation into linguistic, technical, and legal nonsense. If I "accept" these modifications, could it come back to me like a boomerang?