Off topic: Interview with translator David Bellos
Thread poster: Gengo.com

Gengo.com  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:01
English to Japanese
+ ...
Feb 3, 2012

If you're a fan of David Bellos, author of "Is that a Fish in Your Ear? Translation and the Meaning of Everything", then you might be interested in checking out our recent Q&A interview with him currently being featured on myGengo's blog. We asked him questions about his 40+ years of experiences as a translator, his new book and also his insights on the translation industry. http://mygengo.com/about-us/blog/david-bellos/

Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:01
Chinese to English
Sounds very sensible Feb 3, 2012

I wasn't a fan of David Bellos, from the book extracts that have been published, but I rather like him in this interview.

"I have only ever really translated books for publishers, so I have no experience of the standards and practices of the industry as a whole." - always good to be clear about what you know and what you don't know!

"What I would like is for smarter machines to free human translators to attend to those many parts of the task that machines cannot perform. What I fear is that the public at large may come to regard translation as a task fit only for machines. What I expect is that machines will allow the demand for translation to carry on growing, and for translation to become an ever more integral part of the world we live in." - This sounds like a much more sensible view than what came through from the hype surrounding the book.

To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Interview with translator David Bellos

Advanced search

CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!